A Club 2 Meter Sprint

Discussion in 'Contesting' started by W.T. Jones, Apr 5, 2014.

1. W.T. Jones

W.T. Jones Moderator Staff Member Silver Member Golden GPS Recipient AtlDiv EPA Leader AtlDiv ARES Member

Seems that this forum has way too little activity. At the risk of being branded a Charlatan, I'll admit to enjoying a contest or two even though I am an ARES EC. According to some pundits those two just don't go together.

I am a Ham Radio operator first. OK, lets step back a bit. I am a Competitive Shooter first. There is something about competition that just lights the fires and makes me want to kick the tires and go. It gets the juices going in this old body. So I am a Ham Radio Operator second and I do make good use of my time being the County EC. But I do like getting out there and trying contests. I don't do well but then again I am not one of those that will spend the entire weekend glued to the rig for the contest. That is why I like the Sprints. Short and sweet with a set time period so that I can schedule things around the contest.

Some day, just some day, I am going to go after one of the big contests. If for no other reason but to determine if I can sit in the chair for that long.

Anybody out there read QST. I don't care if it is the digital form or the paper form. Did you happen to catch the Club Sprint idea. It may have been an April Fools Joke which I don't think belongs in a National Journal of Ham Radio but the idea caught my eye. And I am always looking for activities to make the club members move a little bit because I really fear that some of them might get Deep Vein Thrombosis if they continue to sit in one spot and never move.

So this Club Sprint idea has been bouncing around in the gray computer for a few weeks. I think it can work and might be something that will be of interest so some of the contesters in the club as well.